Summer: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons

Summer: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons

Summer: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons is the second of four books published in partnership with The Wildlife Trusts to offer an insight into the way in which the seasons play a part in the lives of wildlife and nature. From the breakthrough of the summer sun in May to the last days in August, you are taken on a seasonal adventure by authors old and new and transported to the glistening, hot and vibrant days of summer. Caroline Greville welcomes you to May showing you that summer is well under way, while an extract from The Naturalist’s Journal from 1780 details the days of June from swarming bees to wheat being in bloom.

Travel around the country, including Bristol, the Cotswolds and Derbyshire, and enjoy the writings of poets and writers alike whose descriptions transform the countryside throughout the summer months. Extracts from works by Thomas Hardy, Nicholas Breton and Edward Thomas are paired with new insights from Nicola Chester, Lucy McRobert and Nick Acheson helping you to progress from the chill of spring into the warmth of summer. Spring, Autumn and Winter will also be available as part of this series of books dedicated to the seasons.


Summer: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons is edited by Melissa Harrison, published by Elliott & Thompson and is available to buy from all good book shops and, RRP £12.99.

Click here for the chance to win one of 10 copies of Summer: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons. Competition closes 30th June 2016.

Related books
Posted 1st Feb 2018

Plant Lore and Legend

Posted 6th Jun 2017

The Eco Smallholding: Planning and Designing for Sustainability

Posted 16th Sep 2016

The Natural World of Needle Felting

Posted 16th Sep 2016

The Nature Explorer's Scrapbook

Posted 16th Sep 2016


Posted 16th Sep 2016


July issue on sale 7th June

Subscribe to our newsletter